Stuart Hornery

AO, BSc (Tech), Civ Eng, LGE, Hon. FIE Aust, CP Eng


Our founding Chair, the late Stuart Hornery AO, had an unwavering commitment to creating a more equitable society. Throughout his life he used his influence to make a practical difference to communities and to promote grassroots involvement – this ideology is the touchstone of THI.

Stuart taught us to take a glass half full approach and start with the possibilities; to encourage dreams, underpin them with research and work like crazy to achieve them. His philosophies of daring to be different, thinking outside the square, questioning everything and combining creativity with discipline remain intrinsic to our ethos and guide everything that we do.


We have never settled for better when best was within reach.

We have zero interest in okay.



Stuart’s background

Stuart joined the Lendlease group in 1964 as a Site Engineer, became Chief Executive Chair in 1988, and Non-Executive Chair in 1994. He retired as Chair in 2000, after 36 years of service to the company and its employees.

Stuart was a member of the Australian National Training Authority (ANTA) from its inception in 1992, and Chair from 1995 until 2002. ANTA was responsible for the strategic direction of vocational education in Australia until late 2005, after which its functions were transferred to the Department of Education, Science and Training.

Stuart was awarded a Centenary Medal by the Prime Minister of Australia and an Honorary Fellowship by the Institution of Engineers, Australia. Stuart’s significant personal contribution to the construction industry has also been recognised by the Australian Constructors Association.

During his career, he was also a director of Westpac, IBM Asia Pacific and IBM Global Services Australia.

To honour his contribution to both Australian and international business, he was awarded an AO in 1988 and was named ABM Businessman of the Year in 1994.

On his retirement from Lendlease, the employees and shareholders recognised his enormous contribution by establishing THI which he was the Chair for 12 years.